• Home > 
  • News > 
  • EDS Place First in Model UN Competition

EDS Place First in Model UN Competition

Posted Mar 13, 2019

Congratulations goes out to Erie Day School’s Model United Nations Team as they took first place overall at the Collegiate Academy Model UN Conference on March 8th and 9th.   

Convention of States - This committee had a hypothetical scenario where it was the year 2022 and the states that make up the United States decided to have a convention to make amendments to the Constitution and bypass the Federal Government. Students were to decide on certain amendments, some already presented and some proposed by the individual delegates.

Best Delegate: Jack Beaton (State of Connecticut)

Outstanding Delegate: Gem Rice (State of Oklahoma)  

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) - This committee dealt with the real scenario in the Kerch Strait where Russian ships attacked three Ukrainian vessels and detained a number of sailors. The delegates had to figure out the best communique to present a united front against Russia and its actions.

Best Delegate: Nabiah Bhatti (Republic of Norway)

Excellent Delegate: Will McBrier (United States of America)  

United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) - This committee was to examine current situations dealing with religious minority persecution and how to end it. The delegates had to look at situations in Nigeria, Myanmar, Western China, Pakistan, and India. 

Best Delegate: Finn Chambers (People's Republic of China)

Outstanding Delegate: Tanvi Udgiri and Naomi Warshaw (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)  

United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA) - This committee dealt with a hypothetical situation on a real event involving nuclear waste leaking into the Pacific Ocean out of the Runit Dome in the Marshall Islands. The delegates had to figure out how to clean up the spill, who is to take responsibility for it, and how to prevent such events from occurring in the future.

Best Delegate: Ella Harrington (Republic of Korea)

Excellent Delegate: Ved Patel and Genelia Kang (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)


Additional team members included:  Delaney Anderson, Riley Gloystein, Genelia Kang, Luke Kovacs, Markella Nacopoulos, Asheen Udgiri and Kenny Zacks.  All students put the time and effort into preparing for the event (even over Spring Break).

The students did a great job.  They all put the time and effort into preparing for the event.